Latest News

Shortlist of Candidates for 2021 WAFC Commissioner Elections ConfirmedFriday, October 23, 2020 - 12:49 PM

The WAFC advises that the Nomination Committee, with representatives of the WAFC, West Coast Eagles, Fremantle Football Club, WAFL Council of Presidents and the Community Football Advisory Council, has met to consider the Expressions of Interest for the upcoming Commissioner election process and made recommendations to the Commission regarding a shortlist of candidates.  

An impressive number of nominations from high quality candidates was received by the WAFC and the Nominations Committee faced a challenging task to arrive at the shortlist of endorsed candidates.  The WAFC would like to acknowledge and thank all parties, whether successful in making the shortlist or not, for the interest they have shown in participating in this process.

The WAFC has endorsed the recommendations of the Nominations Committee and the shortlisted candidates to be included on the ballot paper are as follows:   

Gareth Parker

Allan Stiles

Brian O’Donnell

Dixie Marshall

Nicole Moody

Gordon Cole

Ian Callahan

Grant Dorrington

Neale Fong

Carolyn Hills

Phil Lamb

The candidates will be listed on the Ballot Paper in the order above which was determined by the Returning Officer via random draw on 22 October 2020.

The process for the remainder of the election process is as follows:

Friday 23 October 2020
Ballot papers and Notice of Meeting for the Football Forum distributed to Members and Affiliated Associations.

Monday 26 October 2020 to Tuesday 17 November 2020
Opportunity for Nominee Members, eligible Ordinary Members and Affiliated Associations to meet (interview) all endorsed candidates, including Commissioners seeking re-election, at a meeting to be scheduled sometime between Monday 26 October and Tuesday 17 November 2020 (specific date/time to be determined).

Friday 27 November 2020 – 12.00pm
Deadline for receipt of postal votes.

Wednesday 2 December 2020 – 5.30pm (venue WAFC Cafeteria)
Football Forum – Nominee Members to vote by secret ballot on the appointment of the applicants who were successful in the postal vote. Vote counts to be undertaken by the Returning Officer and results announced at the meeting.