Latest News

Draft Wrap Day Two: 11 More WA Players SelectedThursday, November 25, 2021 - 7:56 PM

Congratulations to the 15 Western Australian players added to AFL lists via the 2021 AFL National Draft over two nights.
Following the first day success story of four locals being selected in the first round, a further eleven  WA based players have been added to AFL lists on day two. Matthew Johnson (Subiaco), Jesse Motlop (South Fremantle), Brady Hough (Peel Thunder), Rhett Bazzo (Swan Districts), Corey Warner (East Fremantle), James Tunstill (East Perth), Arthur Jones (Claremont), Eric Benning (Claremont), Jack Williams (East Fremantle), Greg Clark (Subiaco) and Taj Woewoodin (East Fremantle). 
After being overlooked in the first round, Subiaco midfielder Matthew Johnson didn’t have to wait long to find an AFL home with the Fremantle Dockers taking him at pick 21, the first selection in Round 2.
Exciting small forward Jesse Motlop was snapped up by Carlton at pick 27.
Motlop made his WAFL League debut this year with South Fremantle and follows his father’s footsteps into AFL ranks. Daniel Motlop played a combined 130 matches with North Melbourne and Port Adelaide.
Peel’s Brady Hough found his way to the West Coast Eagles with selection 31.
The versatile 18-year-old made his League debut for the Thunder this year in the final round of the season.
Rebounding defender Rhett Bazzo is also remaining in WA after being picked by the Eagles with pick 37. Bazzo played a key role for Swan Districts in their Simply Energy Colts Premiership win.
It will be a case of brothers in arms at Sydney, with Corey Warner joining his brother Chad at the Swans, taken at selection 40.
East Perth midfielder James Tunstill continued WA’s stellar second night at the Draft, with the Brisbane Lions selecting the Busselton product at pick 41.
The Western Bulldogs have added a touch of silk and speed to their list with Claremont’s Arthur Jones joining this season’s Grand Finalists being selected at pick 43.
Fremantle ended their 2021 NAB AFL Draft campaign by selecting ruckman-forward Eric Benning from the Claremont Tigers with pick 54. 
 West Coast added another forward with pick 57 selecting East Fremantle’s key forward Jack Williams.
West Coast then swooped in with pick 62 to nab Subiaco Lions premiership and Simpson Medallist Greg Clark.
The night ended with a father-son pick (65) in Taj Woewodin heading to Melbourne. 
WAFC State Talent Manager Adam Jones congratulated those who were selected and paid tribute to their clubs, coaches and family members for their support during another challenging season.
“These are all very talented players who’ve been rewarded for their dedication and commitment in particularly challenging circumstances during the last two seasons,” Jones said.
“It is a credit to the Schools, Junior & WAFL clubs, coaches and family members for their support in helping each individual reach their dream of being drafted into the AFL.”
“For the players that missed out, this isn’t the end of the road. There remains plenty of opportunities to be picked up outside of the Draft and I encourage them to return to their WAFL clubs and continue to work hard towards their ultimate goal of joining the AFL system”
2021 AFL National Draft 
8– Jye Amiss (East Perth / Busselton JFC) – Fremantle Dockers
10- Neil Erasmus (Subiaco / Sorrento Duncraig JFC)- Fremantle Dockers
18- Angus Sheldrick (Claremont / Mosman Park JFC)- Sydney Swans
19- Jacob van Rooyen (Claremont / Wembley Downs JFC) – Melbourne Demons
21- Matthew Johnson (Subiaco / North beach JFC)- Fremantle Dockers
27- Jesse Motlop (South Fremantle / South Coogee JFC)- Carlton Blues
31- Brady Hough (Peel Thunder/ Harvey Brunswick Leschenault)- West Coast Eagles
37- Rhett Bazzo (Swan Districts/South Mandurah JFC)- West Coast Eagles
40- Corey Warner (East Fremantle/ Willetton JFC)- Sydney Swans
41- James Tunstill (East Perth/ Busselton JFC)- Brisbane Lions
43- Arthur Jones (Claremont/ Mt Barker)- Western Bulldogs
54- Eric Benning (Claremont/ Waringarri, Kununurra)- Fremantle Dockers
57-Jack Williams (East Fremantle / Rossmoyne JFC)- West Coast Eagles
62- Greg Clark (Subiaco / Sorrento Duncraig JFC)- West Coast Eagles
65- Taj Woewodin (East Fremantle/ Booragoon JFC)- Melbourne Demons