Latest News

Bailey Rogers claims 2021 Sandover MedalTuesday, September 28, 2021 - 11:09 PM

Claremont midfielder Bailey Rogers has capped off an incredible individual season by claiming the 2021 Sandover Medal on Tuesday night at Optus Stadium.  

Rogers finished the count on 30 votes, five ahead of dual Sandover Medallist and Tigers teammate Jye Bolton (25 votes) and a trailing pack of Haiden Schloithe (South Fremantle), Aaron Black (West Perth) and Greg Clark (Subiaco) all on 22 votes.

The half-back turned midfielder averaged 28 possessions during the season, polling three best-afield performances in the final four matches to storm home and claim his maiden Sandover Medal. 

The Marist product took his game to a new level in 2021, kicking 19 goals for the season through the midfield, and was rewarded with a second Black Swan jumper in the Kia WA State Team. 

Rogers rose through the ranks early in his career, named as the vice-captain of the WA State U18s side, before breaking into the Tigers league side in 2016 playing 20 games and finishing fifth in the club’s fairest and best.

The 24-year-old becomes Claremont Football Club’s 13th Sandover Medallist, following the likes of Bolton, Kane Mitchell, Luke Blackwell and Steve Malaxos. 

For the first time in WA Football history, both the Sandover Medal and WA Football Hall of Fame was held on the same evening.

Fremantle Dockers legend Matthew Pavlich was inducted into the Hall of Fame, while media figure Dennis Cometti and Claremont Premiership player Jim Krakouer were also honoured with the same accolade.

Brownlow and Sandover Medallist Matthew Priddis was elevated into the Hall of Fame after a stellar career with Subiaco and West Coast.

Claremont midfielder Rylie Morgan claimed the Prendergast Medal for the WAFL Reserves fairest and best player, while East Fremantle young gun Josh Browne was crowned Jack Clarke Medallist as the Simply Energy Colts fairest and best.

Two-time WAFLW premiership coach Steve Markham finished his sensational season with the JJ Leonard Medal for Coach of the Year.

Trent McPhee was named as the best WAFL umpire in season 2021, winning the Montgomery Medal.


30 – Bailey Rogers (Claremont)
25 – Jye Bolton (Claremont)
22 – Greg Clark (Subiaco)
22 – Haiden Schloithe (South Fremantle)
22 -  Aaron Black (West Perth)
21 – Leigh Kitchin* (Subiaco)
15 – Frank Anderson (Swan Districts)
13 – Sam Fisher (Swan Districts)
11 – Jonathon Marsh (East Fremantle)
11 – Harrison Marsh (Subiaco)
11 - Angus Scott (East Perth)


Sandover Medallist 
Bailey Rogers (Claremont)

WAFL Reserves Prendergast Medal
Rylie Morgan (Claremont)

Simply Energy Colts Jack Clarke Medal
Joshua Browne (East Fremantle)

Bernie Naylor Medal – WAFL Leading Goalkicker
Tyler Keitel (West Perth)

JJ Leonard Coach of the Year
Steve Markham (Peel Thunder WAFLW )

Umpires Montgomery Medal
Trent McPhee

Rodriguez Shield – Champion Club
Claremont Football Club

Volunteer of the Year 
Shane Harris & Evelyn Costaine