Latest News

Sandover Medal & WA Football Hall of Fame to combine in 2021Saturday, May 8, 2021 - 10:34 AM

For the first time in WA football history, the Sandover Medal and WA Football Hall of Fame will become a combined event in 2021.
The Sandover Medal will celebrate its centenary year this season. It has been awarded annually since 1921 to the fairest and best player in the West Australian Football League (WAFL).
The celebration of the two acclaimed WA Football events will take place on the Monday of WAFL Grand Final week, currently earmarked for September 13.
The WA Football Hall of Fame event was established in 2004 to recognise and honour players, coaches, umpires, administrators and media representatives that have made a significant contribution to the game of Australian Football in WA.   
It was convened as an annual event for the first nine years of its existence. The event shifted to a biennial celebration across 2015, 2017 and 2019 before being put on hold due to COVID-19.
The opportunity to restore the Hall of Fame to an annual affair means the WA Football community is able to celebrate its current inductees and legends, and also induct up to four new members a season.
WAFC Chief Executive Michael Roberts said: “The WAFC is delighted to have the two biggest events on the WA Football calendar combined for season 2021 and beyond.”
“It will be a history making evening, with the prestigious WA Football Hall of Fame awarded on the same night as the state’s oldest individual football prize.”
“Having past and present football legends from this state in the same room will make for a memorable occasion that all Western Australians can treasure.
“The organisation is really confident of delivering a high quality marquee event to celebrate and acknowledge the prestige of both the Sandover Medal and Hall of Fame."
The Dhara Kerr Medal for the fairest and best player in the WAFLW will be celebrated on Monday, June 28.
Swan Districts’ Sam Fisher was crowned the Sandover Medallist in 2020, while Chris Judd, Dean Cox, Darren Glass, Warren Ralph, JJ Simons and John Loughridge were inducted into the WA Football Hall of Fame in 2019.
South Fremantle star Stephen Michael became the 19th player inducted to Legend status.