Latest News

WAFC congratulates AFL DrafteesThursday, December 10, 2020 - 2:07 PM

Congratulations to the 11 Western Australian players added to AFL lists via the 2020 AFL National and Rookie Drafts.
These included first round selections Logan McDonald (PFC), Denver Grainger-Barras (SDFC) and Heath Chapman (WPFC).
Other National Draft selections included Simply Energy WA State Academy players Nathan O’Driscoll (PFC), Shannon Neale (SFFC), Jack Carroll (EFFC), Tyler Brockman (SFC), Brandon Walker (EFFC), Joel Western (CFC) and Isiah Winder (PTFC).
Swan Districts midfielder Zane Trew was the only WA selection in the Rookie Draft on Thursday.
WA State Talent Manager Adam Jones congratulated all of the players on their selection and paid tribute to their clubs, coaches and family members for their support during an extremely challenging season.
“These are all very talented players who have been rewarded for their dedication and commitment in particularly challenging circumstances during 2020,” Jones said.
“It is a credit to the Schools, Junior & WAFL clubs, coaches and family members for their support in helping each individual reach their dream of being drafted into the AFL.”
“For the players that missed out, there is plenty of opportunity within the AFL to be picked up outside of the Draft and I encourage them to return to their WAFL clubs and continue to work hard towards their goal.”
2020 AFL National Draft 
4 – Logan McDonald (Perth) – Sydney
6 – Denver Grainger-Barras (Swan Districts) – Hawthorn
14 – Heath Chapman (West Perth) – Fremantle
27 – Nathan O’Driscoll (Perth) – Fremantle
33 – Shannon Neale (South Fremantle) – Geelong
41 – Jack Carroll (East Fremantle) – Carlton
46 – Tyler Brockman (Subiaco) – Hawthorn
50 – Brandon Walker (East Fremantle) – Fremantle
54 – Joel Western (Claremont) – Fremantle
57 – Isiah Winder (Peel Thunder) – West Coast
2020 AFL Rookie Draft
12 – Zane Trew (Swan Districts) – West Coast