Latest News

South Fremantle claim 2020 Optus WAFL PremiershipSunday, October 4, 2020 - 6:50 PM

South Fremantle are the 2020 Optus WAFL champions, claiming the premiership in their 120-year celebrations at Fremantle Community Bank Oval. 

The Bulldogs defeated Claremont 6.10 (46) to 6.7 (43) to win their first premiership since 2009.

Zac Strom was South Fremantle’s only multiple goal kicker slotting two majors to go with his 16 disposals.

For the Tigers, Waterman was the best forward on the ground, kicking 3.1 in a losing effort while ball magnet Jye Bolton collected 35 disposals.

Bolton claimed the Simpson Medal for best afield. 

The win was a remarkable effort by the Bulldogs considering they were beaten by the Tigers by 47 points in week one of the WAFL finals.