Latest News

East Fremantle Fairest and Best AwardMonday, October 7, 2013 - 9:39 AM

RORY O’Brien and Andrew Stephen were announced joint winners of East Fremantle Football Club’s Fairest and Best Lynn Medal on Saturday, October 5.

O’Brien, who was also this year’s WAFL Sandover Medallist, won his second Lynn Medal after previously being declared the winner in his first season at the Club in 2011.

He was joined by Andrew Stephen on 339 votes, who became the first son of a Lynn Medallist to win the Award following on from his father Peter in 1969.

Both players are members of the leadership group at the Club and are held in the highest regard for the diligence and dedication that they show to their football and the Club.

Sharks captain Mark McGough was third with 322 votes, while Tom Howlett (236) and Steven Dodd (229) rounded out the top five.

East Fremantle vice captain Richard Hadley also announced his retirement after 49 games with the Club from 2011 to 2013.

Hadley, who played 66 AFL Games with Brisbane and Carlton including the 2003 AFL Premiership with the Lions, returned to East Fremantle in 2011 and had been a member of the club’s leadership group since.

East Fremantle Football Club was grateful Hadley returned to his Club of origin and said he had been a much admired and valued player at the Club in the past three seasons as an outstanding leader and role model for his team mates.

Steve Malaxos will enter his fourth season as League Coach in 2014.

Rory O’Brien

Lynn Medallist 2013

Sandover Medallist 2013

State Representative 2011, 2013

AAMI Player on the Year 2013

East Fremantle Games 2011 to 2013 – 63 games

Andrew Stephen

Lynn Medallist 2013

State Representative 2011, 2013

East Fremantle Games 92

Lynn Medal Top 5

Rory O’Brien 339

Andrew Stephen 339

Mark McGough 322

Tom Howlett 236

Steven Dodd 229

Other Awards:

Henry Jeffrey Medal (Reserves Fairest and Best) – Tyler Chalwell

Alan Trott Medal (Colts Fairest and Best) – Jacob Green (also winner of the 2013 Jack Clarke Medal for the WAFL Colts League Fairest and Best).