Latest News

Simply Energy Colts Round 1 WrapTuesday, July 21, 2020 - 12:03 PM

The opening round of the 2020 Simply Energy WAFL Colts season started with a bang, as there were great individual and team performances alike.

The opening round saw South Fremantle defeat East Fremantle 10.6.66 to 8.11.59; Claremont winning over Subiaco 9.11.65 to 7.10.52; West Perth beating Swan Districts 10.11.71 to 3.6.24; and Perth overcoming Peel Thunder 10.16.76 to 10.11.71.

East Perth were the team who had the bye this weekend.

Read below to see the results of round one and to see who played well.

South Fremantle opened their 2020 season with a thrilling seven-point victory over arch-rivals East Fremantle at Fremantle Community Bank Oval.

Shannon Neale led the way for the Bulldogs with 15 possessions, 15 hit-outs, seven marks and a goal.

Oscar Armstrong (19 possessions, 4 marks), Riley Clayton (19 possessions, 3 tackles), Regan Ward (18 possessions, 5 inside 50s) and Jaxon Bellchambers (17 possessions, 9 marks, 5 inside 50s) were all prolific for the Bulldogs.

Up forward, Jacob Plunkett was the key focal point with 11 possessions, 5 marks and 3 goals. Jacob Sax (2 goals), Darryl Anderson (2 goals), Haki Harcourt (1 goal) and Jesse Motlop (1 goal) all hit the scoreboard.

For the Sharks, Finn Gorringe (26 possessions, 7 tackles, 4 inside 50s 1 goal), and Jack Carroll (26 possessions, 6 marks, 4 inside 50s, 1 goal) led the way.

Chris Walker (22 possessions, 1 goal), Bohan Teakle (18 possessions), Jed Hagan (17 possessions, 1 goal), Josh Browne (16 possessions) and Taj Woewodin (16 possessions) were prolific for the Sharks.

Lachlan McGrath (2 goals), Edward Curley (1 goal), and Ethan Paholski (1 goal) also hit the scoreboard for the Sharks.

SUBIACO 7.10 (52) vs CLAREMONT 9.11 (65)
Claremont’s premiership defence got off to a good start with their 13-point victory over Subiaco at Leederville Oval.

Joel Western starred for the Tigers with 29 possessions, 4 marks, 4 tackles, 3 inside 50s and a goal.

Jack Avery (23 possessions), Logan Young (22 possessions, 12 tackles) and Jake Willison (22 possessions) were all prolific for Claremont.

Up forward, Zac Mainwaring was lively for the Tigers with 15 possessions, 4 inside 50s and 2 goals. Cameron Anderson (one), Jack Mentink (one), Jacquin Ciminata (one), Thomas Lawson (one), Jacob Van Rooyen (one) and Kieran Gowdie (one) all hit the scoreboard.

For the Lions, Lachlan Vanirsen (25 possessions, 7 marks, 6 tackles, 4 inside 50s, 1 goal), Matthew Johnson (24 possessions, 7 inside 50s, 6 marks, 4 tackles, 1 goal), Jaxon McGowan (24 possessions, 7 marks, 5 inside 50s, 3 tackles) and Jed Kemp (21 possessions, 7 marks, 3 tackles, 3 inside 50s, 1 goal) tried hard all game.

Ezekial Bolton (one goal), Galen Savigini (one), Patrick Mullane (one) and Zac Caulfield (one) all hit the scoreboard for the Lions.

SWAN DISTRICTS 3.6 (24) vs WEST PERTH 10.11 (71)
West Perth started its 2020 campaign with a bang, after thumping Swan Districts by 47 points at Steel Blue Oval.

Michael Mallard led the way for the Falcons with 20 possessions, 33 hit-outs, 5 marks, and 2 inside 50s.

Callum Johnson (34 possessions, 8 marks, 8 tackles, 5 inside 50s), Lochlan Paton (24 possessions, 5 inside 50s, 4 marks, 3 tackles, 1 goal), Rohan Scurria (17 possessions) and Logan Foley (17 possessions) were prolific for the Falcons.

Up forward, Corey Rundle kicked two goals, while Christian Henderson, Simon Homsany, Cooper Blackburn, Darcy Dixon, Saverio Marafioti, Kallum Erickson and Taj Hazel all kicked one goal each.

For the Swans, Zane Trew (25 possessions, 5 tackles, 3 marks, 3 inside 50s), Ty Sears (24 possessions, 7 marks, 3 tackles, 2 inside 50s) and Kade Screaigh (22 possessions, 12 marks) competed hard.

Ayden Cartwright (2 goals) and Brodie Morris (one goal) were the only players to hit the scoreboard for the Swans.

PEEL THUNDER 10.11 (71) vs PERTH DEMONS 10.16 (76)
The Perth Demons’ 2020 campaign started with a thrilling five-point victory over Peel Thunder at David Grays Arena.

Just before the full-time siren, Perth’s Jack Evans was rewarded with a free kick for being taken too high. Evans then converted his set shot from about 40 metres out to win the game for the Demons after the siren.

Conor McPartland (40 possessions, 8 tackles, 8 inside 50s, 4 marks) and Harry Quarternaine (16 possessions, 7 marks, 7 goals) vied for being the Demons’ best.

Zac Sanderson (22 possessions, 7 marks, 3 inside 50s), Zak Meloncelli (20 possessions, 7 marks, 5 inside 50s) and Jack Evans (16 possessions, 3 goals) all contributed strongly for the Demons.

Isiah Winder was the Thunder’s best player with 32 possessions, 7 marks, 7 tackles and 2 inside 50s.

Bodie Kitchingham (21 possessions, 8 marks, 3 tackles), Zachary Rankin (21 possessions, 8 marks, 6 inside 50s, 4 tackles) and David Yaccob (19 possessions) were all prolific for the Thunder.

Jonathon Ietto and Josh Draper each kicked two goals, while Kobe Farmer, Jack Walsh, Michael Sellwood, Riley Vidovich, Roy George and Adam Davey each kicked one.