Latest News

2020 NAB AFL Women’s Competition Fixture AnnouncementTuesday, October 29, 2019 - 3:08 PM

The 2020 NAB AFL Women’s Competition will kick off on Friday, February 7 in a blockbuster match between Richmond and Carlton at Ikon Park.
The eight-week home and away season will be followed by a three-week finals series, with the NAB AFLW Grand Final scheduled to be played on Saturday April 18.


Four new AFLW teams will debut in 2020; Gold Coast Suns, St Kilda, Richmond and the West Coast Eagles, while matches will be played at 28 different venues throughout the country.

•    First West Australian AFLW Derby between Fremantle and West Coast to be played at Optus Stadium in Round Two on Saturday, February 15

2020 Conferences were also confirmed today:
Conference A                                 Conference B
Adelaide Crows                               Carlton
Geelong Cats                                  Fremantle
North Melbourne                             Melbourne
GWS Giants                                    Western Bulldogs
Brisbane Lions                                Collingwood
Gold Coast Suns                             West Coast Eagles
Richmond                                        St Kilda

Teams were placed in conferences using 2019 final finishing positions.  A snaking allocation has been applied – this method creates the most even balance of wins from the previous season across conferences.
Teams play all other teams in their own conference and two teams from the opposite conference.
Crossover matches are determined by playing one top four and one bottom four team from the opposite conference, with the fourth-ranked team are considered to be a top four and bottom four team.
The top three teams in each conference will play in a three-week finals series with the addition of two Semi Finals.
The top team in each conference will have a bye in the first week of finals.
Semi Finals – April 4 or 5
Preliminary Final – April 11 or 12
The highest ranked teams will host finals matches based on finishing order in the home and away season, with the NAB AFLW Grand Final scheduled to be Saturday April 18.
AFL Head of Women’s Football Nicole Livingstone said the fixture includes many new highlights as we welcome four new teams to the competition.
“Season 2020 will be one of firsts with four new teams, 120 new players and 13 new venues,” she said.
“There is so much to look forward to with rivalries been continued and established as we play AFLW matches throughout the country.
“I would like to acknowledge NAB for being our naming rights partner and for providing outstanding support for all levels of women’s football.”
In 2020 there will be some ticketed AFLW games, including the match at Perth’s Optus Stadium. Like the ticketed match at Optus Stadium in 2018, the tickets will be sold for operational purposes at a nominal cost.

All 2020 NAB AFLW Competition matches will again be broadcast live on the Seven Network and on Fox Sports. Matches will be streamed live via and the AFLW Official App.
NAB has supported the footy community since 2002, providing boys and girls with a clear pathway from NAB AFL Auskick through to the NAB AFL Rising Stars Program all the way to the big time. In the fourth year as principal partner of the AFLW, NAB is proud to once again be supporting the competition in 2020, providing many women the opportunity of playing at the elite level and many girls across the country with something to aspire to.