Latest News

WAFC Commission Election resultsThursday, December 13, 2018 - 2:48 PM - by Steve Tuohey

The results of the elections for Commissioners of the West Australian Football Commission were endorsed last night, Wednesday 12 December 2018, by the Nominee Members of the WAFC (WA’s AFL and WAFL Clubs) at a meeting of WA Football stakeholders.
Current WAFC Chairman Murray McHenry was reappointed for a term of one year, Commissioner Stuart Love was reappointed for a term of three years, and Wayne Martin was appointed as a new Commissioner for a term of three years.

WAFC Chairman Murray McHenry congratulated Mr Martin on his appointment and thanked the voting members for supporting his and Mr Love’s reappointments.

“The WAFC is excited to be able to attract the likes of the HON Wayne Martin to join the WAFC and the part he can play in supporting the growth and development of football in Western Australia,” Mr McHenry said.
“I would like to thank everyone who nominated for this election and those who voted for Stuart and I to be reappointed. Stuart has made a tremendous contribution to WA Football over the past five years and I am looking forward to commencing my 10th year as a Commissioner.”

Jon Carson did not nominate for re-election as a Commissioner after serving a three-year term from 2016 to 2018. He was acknowledged for his outstanding service to football after previously serving on the WA Amateur Football League Board from 2013-2015 and dedicating 17 years to the University Football Club as a player, coach and an official in various capacities, including President.
Murray McHenry
Reappointed for a 1-year term from 1 January 2019 to 31 December 2019
Mr McHenry has been involved with football administration for more than 20 years, as a WAFC Commissioner since 2010 and a director at the West Coast Eagles for the previous 13 years. He has been WAFC Chairman since 2015 and served as Deputy Chairman and Chairman at West Coast, where he was awarded life membership in 1999. Murray has played a key part in setting the new strategy for WA football, leading the WAFC through State negotiations for its funding model in 2017 and supporting the many reforms being implemented across all segments of the game in WA.


Stuart Love

Reappointed for a 3-year term from 1 January 2019 to 31 December 2021

Mr Love has been a WAFC Commissioner since 2013 and is the current Deputy Chairman.
He is a Partner and Vice President of Bain and Company, one of the world’s leading international strategic consulting firms. He has extensive experience in strategic management consultancy, financial analysis and risk assessment, advising some of the world’s largest organisations and leading executives. Stuart currently Chairs the WAFC Finance Committee and has played a key part in driving the financial sustainability of the WAFC, supporting the good governance of the WAFC to ensure long term success and sustainability. Mr Love has also been involved in Surf Lifesaving for more than 20 years as a volunteer lifesaver, coach, administrator and competitor, which included winning a Beach Relay World Championship.


HON Wayne Martin AC QC 
Appointed for a 3-year term from 1 January 2019 to 31 December 2021
Mr Martin has served the State and people of Western Australia in a variety of roles, most recently as Chief Justice of Western Australia, a position which he held from May 1, 2006 until his retirement from judicial office in July, 2018.
He is the current Lieutenant-Governor of Western Australia and has served as Chair and Board member of numerous professional, not-for-profit and government organisations during his lengthy legal career. He has passionately followed football in Western Australia throughout his life and is the proud father of five children who have all participated in a wide-range of community based sports.