Latest News

WAFC congratulates AFLW DrafteesTuesday, October 23, 2018 - 12:02 PM

THE West Australian Football Commission (WAFC) congratulates the 10 WA players selected in the 2018 NAB AFLW Draft in Melbourne today, which included number 4 pick Jasmin Stewart, pictured, from Claremont to Fremantle Football Club.

WAFC CEO Gavin Taylor congratulated all of the players selected and said the result highlighted the continued growth and development of female football talent in Western Australia.

“This is a fantastic achievement for these players and a great reward for all of their hard work and commitment. I congratulate them, their clubs, coaches, family and friends who have supported them along the way,” he said.

“To see another 10 WA players added to AFLW lists after more than 50 have been selected in the first two years of the competition really demonstrates the depth and quality of female football talent in WA.

“It also shows what a great job our Junior, Youth Girls and WA Women's Football League clubs and coaches are doing in partnership with our Mundella WA State Female Academy to grow female football and provide a complete pathway for all players.

“All 10 of these draftees have come through the Mundella WA State Female Academy, so it is great to see the efforts of everyone involved with that program being rewarded.

“The WAFC is committed to supporting the ongoing advancement of women aspiring to the AFLW competition and will continue working closely with all female football stakeholders to enhance and strengthen the talent pool in our State.”

WA Players – 2018 NAB AFLW Draft

4 – Jasmin Stewart (Claremont) – Fremantle

17 – Sabreena Duffy (Peel Thunderbirds) – Fremantle

26 – Kate Bartlett (Peel Thunderbirds) – Western Bulldogs

28 – Philipa Seth (East Fremantle) – Fremantle

33 – McKenzie Dowrick (Subiaco) – Brisbane

39 – Courtney Stubbs (Subiaco) – Fremantle

49 – Parris Laurie (Claremont) – Fremantle

57 – Laura Pugh (West Perth) – Fremantle

62 – Matilda Sergeant (Claremont) – Fremantle

64 – Ebony Dowson (Peel Thunderbirds) – Fremantle