Latest News

All-time great Horsley claims third Outridge MedalFriday, October 12, 2018 - 5:10 PM - by Chris Pike

KYAL Horsley has further established himself as one of the all-time greats of Subiaco by winning the Outridge Medal to give him three fairest and best awards just weeks after being premiership captain once more and winning the Simpson Medal.

Horsley might have been considered unlucky by many to miss out on winning the Sandover Medal given his 2018 season was likely the best and most consistent of his remarkable career, but in the end what he has walked away from the year with establishes his legacy further.

There were no shortage of tremendous candidates for the Outridge Medal in 2018 given the dominant and unbeaten season that Subiaco had with a whole host of star performers, but it was Horsley who led the way.

Horsley produced a remarkable season for the Lions going on to play every game and averaging 31.1 possessions and kicking 13 goals. 

His consistency and brilliance is highlighted by the fact that his lowest possession tally was 21 in the second semi-final against South Fremantle while he racked up 40 or more disposals four times and 30 or more on another eight occasions including the Grand Final thumping of West Perth. 

Horsley finished the Grand Final with 34 disposals, 10 inside-50 entries, eight tackles and two goals to win his first Simpson Medal on top of being premiership captain for a third time and playing in the fourth premiership of his career while having played in eight Grand Finals along the way.

On top of the four premierships and Simpson Medal, Horsley is now a three-time fairest and best winner with Subiaco on top of being a life member at the Lions with 182 games under his belt while also having played four times for the WAFL State Team as well as being captain of his state.

That legacy that Horsley has now firmly consolidated makes him one of the greats all-time of the Subiaco Football Club but his winning of the Outridge Medal for 2018 certainly saw him have plenty of competition.

Subiaco went through the entire 2018 season dominating the WAFL and becoming the first undefeated team to finish with a premiership since 1946, not to mention that the reserves and colts won premierships as well meaning all three grades triumphed for the first time in history.

Horsley ended up polling 566 votes to win the fairest and best but it was a close count with last year's winner Leigh Kitchin coming second on 537 votes to take out the Don Carter Memorial Trophy as he rounded out his fourth tremendous season with the Lions.

Zac Clarke proved an invaluable recruit in 2018 for Subiaco with the former Fremantle big establishing himself as the premier ruckman in the WAFL. He came third in fairest and best voting with 528 votes to take away the Ted Doherty Memorial Trophy.

Lachlan Delahunty (516 votes) finished fourth ahead of Josh Deluca (488), Chris Phelan (482), Angus Litherland (477), Aaron Heal (469), Hayden Kennedy (467), Ben Sokol (452), Drew Rohde (437), Jordan Lockyer (433), Rowen Powell (371), Jacob Miller (341), Max Walters (337), Greg Clark (317), Braden Fimmano (309), Ben Newton (307), Rhys Waters (301) and Kyle Halligan (272).

Kitchin along with key defender Jordan Lockyer couldn’t be split in the Player of the Finals award for Subiaco as well from their second semi-final win against South Fremantle and Grand Final triumph over West Perth.

Ben Sokol ended up leading the goalkicker at Subiaco booting 43 goals for the season while other major award winners included Jacob Miller (Rising Star), Justin Joyce (Best Clubman) and Hayden Kennedy (Coaches Award).

Subiaco's reserves also celebrated a premiership in 2018 with Travis Cleggett claiming the Blakemore Medal as fairest and best winner.

He won ahead of Daniel Leach, Ben Reid, Jack Beverley, Max Dennis, Jakob Atkinson, Kaidyn Fullgrabe, James Eccles, Sean Bradley, David Ehlers, Mckenzie Lawrence, Adam Cockie and Tim Sutherland.

Subiaco's colts ensured it was a history-making season with the premiership as well and Liam Hickmott claimed the Taylor Medal as fairest and best winner.

He won ahead of Tristan Hobley, Kyle Stainsby, Luke Foley, Jake McKinnon, Jack Mayo, Jacob Peletier, Taj Schofield, Wil Hickmott and Nick Martin.

Outridge Medal (Fairest and Best winner): Kyal Horsley
Don Carter Memorial Trophy (Runner-up): Leigh Kitchin
Ted Doherty Memorial Trophy (Third-place): Zac Clarke
Golds Player of the Year: Kyal Horsley 
Player of the Finals: Leigh Kitchin, Jordan Lockyer
Austin Robertson Jnr Trophy (Leading Goalkicker): Ben Sokol (43 goals)
Dennis Barron Memorial Trophy (Rising Star Award): Jacob Miller 
City of Subiaco Medallion (Best Clubman): Justin Joyce
Newton Screaigh Memorial Award (Coaches Award): Hayden Kennedy 
President's Trophy: Scott Flood

Blakemore Medal (Fairest and Best winner): Travis Cleggett
Bill Mackie Memorial Trophy (Runner-up): Daniel Leach 
Outstanding Play Award (Third-place): Ben Reid 
Newton Screaigh Memorial Award (Coaches Award): Jack Beverley 

Taylor Medal (Fairest and Best): Liam Hickmott
Rod Wholohan Memorial Trophy (Runner-up): Tristan Hobley
Outstanding Play Award (Third-place): Kyle Stainsby
Newton Screaigh Memorial Award (Coaches Award): Josh Leunig
Rod Jenkins Award (Player of the Finals): Jake McKinnon
Ladies Forum Award (Most Consistent Player): Adam Vallelonga
Past Players & Supporters Encouragement Award: Abe Clinch
Lionhearted Award (Most Courageous Player): Kyle Stainsby
Best First Year Player: Ben Golding
Leading Goalkicker: Jack Mayo (50 goals)