Latest News

WAFC congratulates AFL drafteesFriday, November 24, 2017 - 6:27 PM

THE West Australian Football Commission (WAFC) congratulates the 15 WAFL players selected in the 2017 NAB AFL National Draft in Sydney tonight, which included three first round selections.

First round selections included Aaron Naughton, pictured, (Peel Thunder) at number 9, Brandon Starcevich (East Perth) at number 18 and Wil Powell (Claremont) at number 19.

WAFC CEO Gavin Taylor congratulated all of the players selected and said the result was a great indication of WA Football’s potential to continue producing top talent.

“This is a fantastic achievement for these players who have taken a significant step towards realising their dream of playing AFL football. It is a great reward for all of their hard work and commitment and I congratulate them, their clubs, coaches, family and friends who have supported them along the way,” he said.

“To those players who nominated for the draft and weren’t fortunate enough to be selected this year, I encourage you to keep at it in 2018 and continue striving towards the next opportunity that arises.

“I would also like to acknowledge our Deppro WA State Academy coaches Peter Sumich and Tony Micale, State Talent Manager Adam Jones and WAFC Executive Manager Talent and Football Operations Jon Haines for their collective effort in supporting the most talented players in WA this season.

“The WAFC’s new talent development model kicks off next year with an additional $1 million annual investment from the AFL. We believe that implementing this model in partnership with the WAFL clubs will be critical in supporting and enhancing further opportunities for the most talented players in WA.

“We are committed to becoming the nation’s best talent development State, improving the overall quality of players being developed in WA, and giving players the greatest opportunity to play to their highest potential,” he said.

WAFL Players – 2017 NAB AFL National Draft

9 – Aaron Naughton – Peel Thunder / Rockingham – Western Bulldogs

18 – Brandon Starcevich – East Perth / Trinity / Mt Lawley-Inglewood – Brisbane Lions

19 – Wil Powell – Claremont / Scarborough – Gold Coast

21 – Oscar Allen – West Perth / Whitfords – West Coast

24 – Tim Kelly – South Fremantle / Palmyra – Geelong

26 – Liam Ryan – Subiaco / Rovers Geraldton – West Coast

28 – Sam Taylor – Swan Districts / Guildford Grammar / Upper Swan – Greater Western Sydney

32 – Brayden Ainsworth – Subiaco / Ports Esperance – West Coast

56 – Zac Langdon – Claremont / Dampier – Greater Western Sydney

58 – Jake Patmore – Claremont / Christ Church / Swanbourne – Port Adelaide

62 – Kyron Hayden – Subiaco / Hale – North Melbourne

63 – Ben Miller – Subiaco / Railways Kalgoorlie – Richmond

75 – Scott Jones – East Perth / Busselton – Fremantle

76 – Matt Guelfi – Claremont / Wembley Downs – Essendon

78 – Jarrod Garlett – South Fremantle / Bibra Lake – Carlton