Latest News

Triple treat as FD Book Medallists at East PerthSaturday, October 14, 2017 - 5:25 AM - by Chris Pike

EAST Perth has held its fairest and best awards for the 2017 season and for the first time in 17 years there are three FD Book Medallists with Nathan Blee, Julian Ameduri and Fraser McInnes sharing the honour at the Royals.

East Perth might have missed out on playing in the finals in 2017 for the first time since 2011, but there were still plenty of positives to come out of the season for the Royals.

That was celebrated at the fairest and best awards and the end result was a thrilling three-way tie between emerging midfielder Ameduri, quality defender Blee and versatile big man McInnes.

It was a deserved result for all three players with Ameduri cementing himself in the league side while Blee and McInnes were all tremendous right throughout the season and brought up their 100-game milestones in the process.

It was the first time that the FD Book Medal count has ended in a three-way tie since Aaron Marley, David Swan and Rod Wheatley shared the fairest and best award in the premiership year of 2000.

Ameduri, Blee and McInnes all finished up on 29 votes to share the FD Book Medal for 2017 ahead of Will Maginness and Pat McGinnity who both finished on 27 votes. Tom Lamb also polled 26 votes, Tom Gorter 23, Kurt Mutimer 23, Kyle Anderson 22, Shayne Hille 22, Luke Partington 22 and Francis Watson 22.

Ruckman Scott Jones was rewarded for his emergence by polling 20 votes along with exciting young midfielder Stan Wright.

For Blee, sharing the fairest and best award was reward for his tremendous service to the Royals both before and after his time in the AFL with Port Adelaide.

The 27-year-old has now played 105 games with East Perth and he took his game to another level in 2017.

Having always been a reliable defender, he became an attacking weapon this season averaging 20 possessions a game including a particularly strong finish with 26.8 disposals over the last month. He also kicked a career-best four goals in Round 3 and booted 10 of his 13 career goals for the season.

McInnes also became a 100-game WAFL player late in the 2017 season having started his career at Perth from where he was picked up by the West Coast Eagles.

He remains on West Coast's list and along with playing two his career 11 AFL games in 2017, he slotted in at centre half-forward for East Perth where he provided a strong marking option while pinch-hitting in the ruck when required as well.

McInnes ended up kicking 13 goals and averaging 16.4 possessions a game for the season with his ability to compete hard and create a contest from centre half-forward a hallmark of his game.

He can now call himself a fairest and best winner on top of playing 101 WAFL games to date along with 11 in the AFL for the Eagles.

Meanwhile, the third member of the fairest and best winning trio provides a tremendous story in his own right. Ameduri had only managed 17 league appearances for the Royals coming into the season after making his debut in 2014.

But his tenacity has always been a strong suit and he brought that into the league side in spades throughout 2017 as he became a permanent member of the team in the midfield.

The 23-year-old ended up averaging 17.2 possessions a game along with kicking 12 goals while also averaging 6.6 tackles to become just about the best tackler in the WAFL. His all-round performances and natural competitiveness were rewarded with the fairest and best award.

Not far behind the three winners were former Eagles pair Maginness and McGinnity who were both terrific for East Perth when on the park.

McGinnity joined East Perth full-time in 2017 and was appointed co-captain. While injury his first half of the season, he was tremendous in the back half averaging 21.8 possessions and kicking 14 goals over the last 10 matches.

Maginness, meanwhile, had a blistering start to the season mixing his time between half-forward and the midfield. Over his first 12 games of the season, he averaged 20.9 disposals and kicked 17 goals. He then returned from injury for the last four games.

Other award winners at league level for 2017 at East Perth saw Callum Hart claim the Coaches Award, Lewis Wilson named Best Clubman and given the George Law Trainers Award, Scott Jones named Best First Year Player and Tom Lamb the leading goalkicker with 21 goals.

Nathan Eaton won the Eric Smith Medal as the reserves fairest and best for 2017 at East Perth ahead of Taylor North, Mark Longbottom, Daniel Russo and Nelson Waite.

Meanwhile, Matthew Young claimed the Hec Strempel Medal as colts fairest and best ahead of Kane La Fontaine-Roberts, Christian Ameduri, Damon Greaves, Mitchell Gupanis and Harley Stack.

FD Book Medal Winners (Fairest and Best): Julian Ameduri, Nathan Blee, Fraser McInnes
Outstanding Play Award (Fourth Fairest and Best): Will Maginness, Patrick McGinnity
Jeremy Silcock Trademark Award: Patrick McGinnity, Jordan Browne
Ken Hatfield Trophy (Coaches Award): Callum Hart
Best Clubman: Lewis Wilson
Leading Goalkicker: Tom Lamb (21 goals)
George Law Trainers Award: Lewis Wilson
Mussman-Gardiner Trophy (Best First Year Player): Scott Jones

Eric Smith Medal (Fairest and Best): Nathan Eaton
Runner-up Fairest and Best: Taylor North
Outstanding Play Award (Third Fairest and Best): Mark Longbottom
Outstanding Play Award (Fourth Fairest and Best): Daniel Russo, Nelson Waite

Hec Strempel Medal (Fairest and Best): Matthew Young
Runner-up Fairest and Best: Kane La Fontaine-Roberts
Outstanding Play Award (Third Fairest and Best): Christian Ameduri, Damon Greaves, Mitchell Gupanis, Harley Stack
Encouragement Award: Harley Stack
Seff Parry Memorial Trophy (Education Award): Christian Ameduri, Damon Greaves, Kane La Fontaine-Roberts
Best Clubman: Erick Bashimule
Past Player & Officials Encouragement Award: Brennan Phillips