Latest News

Rogers recognised at Football Woman of the Year AwardsThursday, September 28, 2017 - 2:01 PM

LONG serving WA Women’s Football League volunteer Charmaine Rogers was recognised today, Thursday September 28, with the VicHealth Community Award at the Football Woman of the Year Awards in front of more than 1,000 guests at Crown Palladium, Melbourne.

The annual Awards, which are hosted by the Essendon Women’s Network as part of AFL Grand Final Week, recognise women in the industry who have made a significant contribution to the game of Australian Football.

The Community Award recognises those who work in a volunteer capacity, whether it be at the grass roots level, or through their voluntary contribution to clubs at the highest level.

Charmaine Rogers has been supporting the progression of women in Australian Rules Football since 1996 and has undertaken various roles within the WAWFL for the past 21 years.

Through her role as a board member and WAWFL president she has been able to support growth in female participation and has developed strategies to ensure financial stability and secure the future of female football in WA.

Essendon Women’s Network Chair, Jane Grover, said Charmaine’s commitment and leadership to women's football had been legendary in Western Australia.

“Charmaine's passion, energy, enthusiasm and encouragement to women of all ages, and the way she highlights the many career pathways, is to be applauded,” she said.

Charmaine was one of three West Australian finalists at the awards along with current WAWFL President Carolyn Hills, and West Australian Football Commission (WAFC) Female Football Coordinator Allana Dickie.

Photo: Carolyn Hills, Allana Dickie and Charmaine Rogers.

Adelaide’s AFLW Premiership Coach, Bec Goddard, received the 2017 Football Women of the Year.

Goddard is the 21st woman to win the award, and in doing so joins a long list of talented and influential women who made significant contribution to the game.

Past winners of the Football Woman of the Year Award include;

Daisy Pearce (2016)

Jan Cooper (2015)

Peta Searle (2014)

Michelle Cowan (2013)

Belinda Duarte (2012)

Lesley McGrath (2011)

Anna Durante (2010)

Debbie Lee (2009)

Susan Alberti (2008)

Terry Bracks (2007)

Barb Cullen (2006)

Jennie Loughnan (2005)

Edna Daniher (2004)

Jenny Williams (2003)

Beverly Knight / Bev O’Connor (2002 – joint winners)

Katrina Pressley (2001)

Caroline Wilson (2000)

Jill Lindsay (1999)

Irene Chatfield (1998)